Kingwood, WV USA

Boards and Committees

City of Kingwood > Departments > Government > Boards and Committees

Kingwood City Council

Members of City Council, the Recorder and Mayor are elected at large and serve a two year term. Following a charter change after the 2019 election, the current council is serving a three year term to bring the municipal election in sync with the county primary elections. Following the current term, terms will revert back to two years.

City council meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:30 PM.

Pictured from L to R: Josh Fields, Karen Kurilko, Recorder Bill Robertson, Mayor Jean-Manuel Guillot, Mike Lipscomb, Dick Shaffer, Michelle Whetsell

Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals determines if a conditional or non-conforming use of property shall be permitted if application for a variance has been received from owner/s of said property. The Board conducts public hearings and presents findings whether such conditional/non-conforming usage is appropriate to the character of surrounding properties, non-injurious to adjacent property owners, or reasonable or necessary for reasons of health, safety or environment.

Members of the Board of Zoning Appeals are appointed by City Council for three year terms. Further, 3/5ths of members are required to be a resident of Kingwood for at least 3 years prior to their appointment.

The Board meets on the call of the Chairman.

Kingwood Water Works Board

The Kingwood Water Works Board is composed of 7 members who are appointed for 3 year terms. The Board meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in City Council Chambers.

Members Include:

Robert DeRiggi – Chairman

Perry Barlow – Vice Chairman

Michael Loughry-Treasurer

Bill Robertson – Council Representative

Debbie Delauder

James Maier

L to R: Mike Loughry, Nelson Corbin, Bill Robertson – Council Representative, Bob DeRiggi – President, Perry Barlow – Secretary, Debbie Delauder, Floyd Fulk

Kingwood Planning Commission

The Kingwood Planning Commission is a seven member board that advises City Council on land use and development standards. Members of the Planning Commission are appointed by City Council to 3 year terms. Two members are also members of City Council.

The Planning Commission meets monthly at 6PM on the 1st Thursday of each month.

Members Include:

Mike Lipscomb – Chairman
Josh Fields – Secretary
Charlie Morris
Craig Rotruck
Mike Stump
Tom Westbrook
Jeff Zigray

Kingwood Sewer Board

The Kingwood Sanitary Sewer Board is composed of 3 members who are appointed for 3 year terms. The Board meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 2:30 p.m. in City Council Chambers.


Kingwood Library Board

Kingwood’s first library opened in 1941. Years later, the Kingwood Volunteer Fire Department donated land to the City of Kingwood so could have a new library constructed. This new library, which is still in operation today, first opened to the public on September 3, 1968.

Kingwood Public Library
205 W Main Street
Kingwood, WV 26537
Phone: 304-329-1499